sixteen days. eleven cities. eight flights. five trains. four countries. two people.

We decided last summer to hold off on our 10 year anniversary celebration. Instead of celebrating it with a huge trip in May we took a weekend getaway to one of our favorite spots and held off for a big trip over Christmas (it’s so much easier for Edder to get away for a few weeks over the holidays than any other time of year–in fact i’m certain all future long vacations will be over the holidays). It turned out to be the best decision we made all year. 2013 was a doozie, we needed a break from the intensity.

We jumped on a plane and headed across the pond. To Germany and Italy and France and Britain. For 16 days of insanity and adventure.

We did it on our own. No guides. No tour groups. Nothing. Just us. In Europe. For the first time ever. Together. It was a crazy, amazing, life altering, lesson learning, eye opening, beautiful, exhausting, tear inducing, laughter producing adventure that I will treasure the rest of my life.

The trip was just right. We learned so much! It wasn’t at all what I expected, it was so much more yet so different than what I had expected, all wrapped into one big ball of this incredible experience that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Therefore, because I DO WHAT I WANT, I ROLL WITH TEN GANGS, I plan to post all about our adventures in Europe. I already love looking back at our photos, if I need a boost in my day I look back at those and smile.

I can’t wait to share it, even if it is five months after the fact! More importantly, I (and Edder too) can’t wait to go back. We are already planning our next big adventure, for 2016, either Europe or Africa (mostly depends on what happens fertility wise, dragging a baby to Africa probably isn’t the most sane idea ever). I already can’t wait.

For now, a little dose of our adventures:

IMG_0176*the christmas market in ludwigsburg, germany. experiencing christmas in germany was unforgettable.*

IMG_1849
*view of the arno river while standing on ponte vecchio in florence, italy. we spent the actual week of christmas in italy, it was magical.*

IMG_0589*notre dame, a view from the seine paris, france. we spent new years in paris. it seemed surreal.*

IMG_0118*a view of london from the london eye. we spent the week after new years here and we had a blast.*

2 thoughts on “sixteen days. eleven cities. eight flights. five trains. four countries. two people.

  1. Super!

    I’m glad you had a great time in Europe. I was born a country rube but my wife’s parents are both Europe born and she spent time in France as a child..and so I had a great intro years ago from her..bit by bit, country by country.

    I had many preconceived notions that were all smashed down.
    -paul

Leave a comment