best part of my day. morning routine.

I am not a morning person, in any way shape or form. But I realized a few years ago that weekday mornings in my house are calm, serene and quiet. So now I now look forward to them as one of the best parts of my day.

I wake up, take care of the animals (that makes it sound like i live on a farm…), pour my freshly ground and brewed coffee and go into my dark living room. That’s when I turn on the fireplace, grab my phone, snuggle into soft blankets and sit down to enjoy the solitude.

so much sunshine
One of my favorite people on the planet got me this mug last year after I had surgery. She said she wanted to give it to me for awhile, but needed a reason, and my surgery was reason enough (which was a year ago now, holy crap).

So that’s that. My morning coffee alone in front of the fire. With this mug and it’s little message reminding me not to let the daily ‘junk’ steal my sunshine. Best part. Hands down. Man…. I’m going to make a spectacular 80 year old.

One thought on “best part of my day. morning routine.

  1. I get that as well, I get up an hour before anyone else (wife or kids) are supposed to get up just to enjoy a touch of solitude. Then I get angry when they get up early anyway. Today my youngest had a nightmare and crawled in bed with us at 6:30, by 6:45 my alarm went off and 7:15 my oldest came out to watch tv with me. Nobody else is supposed to be up before 8. Then my blender broke and screwed up my breakfast. NOT a great monday.

Leave a Reply

