091613 / run notes. what just happened?

Oh boy. Well, the good news is that I’m still on marathon training track. I’m just not sure what happened to my running the past week. It’s like my lungs and legs forgot how to run. Ever since that horrid 14 miler it’s like my body is just angry at me. It is PISSED and it won’t let me forget it. Make no mistake, I’m getting my runs done, but it feels like I’m a brand new runner. Ugh.

At least I know this is just how it is sometimes with running. There are bad days and good days, bad weeks and great weeks. It’s just how it is. I’m not deterred, but I won’t lie and say I’m not a tad worried that my marathon might be a lot of misery. I will run it, I will finish it, it will probably just not be as easy as the last one I did.

My 16-miler Saturday wasn’t bad. But it wasn’t great. This sums up a lot of my running lately. It’s just kind of blah. And I feel as though I’m constantly trying to catch my breath. Not sure what’s up with that. My legs are (mostly) fine and cooperative. It’s my lungs that seem to hate me lately.

River*we did our saturday morning run along the river paths. it was gorgeous this week*

This marathon training is feeling forced. I’m not giving up (just yet). I hate giving up. I’ve given up and dropped out of running many a race; either due to injury or because I just didn’t have enough drive and desire to do it. One thing I refuse to do is train for a race if I’m not really feelin’ it. I have the drive and desire for this one, I don’t have an injury… I don’t know what the deal is.

But again, this is how (MY) running goes. I will keep after it this week and see how it goes. For now I’m tired and I kind of want to curl up in a ball and cry. For a number of reasons, not even really related to running at all (fellow infertiles, i need a hug! it’s one of those weeks). UGH. So rude.

At least the weather here is pure perfection in my opinion. The mornings are cool, the days are sunny and the evenings are blissful. This is my favorite time of year. So at least there’s that!

I wasn’t totally thrilled with my training last week, but I had some wrenches thrown into my week. I did what I could while maintaining sanity. That’s really all I can do!

Week Seven of STL Marathon Training
Monday
– I lost motivation to do anything but stuff my face
Tuesday – Muscle Pump
Wednesday – 4 Miles (then fell asleep for several hours once i got home from work, i’m amazing)
Thursday – 6 Miles
Friday – Nada
Saturday – 16 kinda meh miles on a beautiful morning with my running buds
Sunday – Sweet, sweet sleep

4 thoughts on “091613 / run notes. what just happened?

  1. Sorry it’s been one of those weeks. I’m so impressed with your discipline, even when you’re not feeling particularly motivated. Way to keep at it. If you are still up for coffee sometime, send me an email at jiminickel (at) gmail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

